Philip Seymour Hoffman Talks Plutarch and Catching Fire

Our new Head Gamemaker, Philip Seymour Hoffman recently spoke with EW about taking on the role of Plutarch Heavensbee in Catching Fire Hoffman discussed what drew him to the project, the books and more.

“I liked the people involved. It’s a great group of actors. It’s a great environment. And the character was something I was attracted to. It was just an interesting role. [SPOILER ALERT] He’s somebody who’s part of the revolution, but you don’t know it. The idea that somebody would be risking themselves in such an extreme way to join something that’s that dangerous because he thinks it’s the future…that’s interesting stuff, you know?”

Despite having not read the books before being considered for the role, Hoffman is now deep in research on his character. He has since watched the first film and is currently about halfway through reading Catching Fire

“It’s good,” he says. “I’ve read the script, which is true to the book — I kinda ruined it for myself. [Laughs] But I’m reading it anyway, because I really want to find out everything I need to know about this guy.”

And what about the inevitable recognizability that comes with doing a film like this?

“Things always pass over, you know? I don’t know what it will be like. But, you know, I’m not playing Katniss. [Laughs] I’m not in high-profile movies in that way too often, so it usually passes. I’m 45. I think it will be all right.”

Source: Hunger Games DWTC

About TributesIndo

Indonesian fanbase for The Hunger Games. Email: TributesIndonesia@ymail.com

Posted on 04/08/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

