Jena Malone as Johanna Mason? See The Fandom Reacts!

Jena Malone in talks for Catching Fire - Johanna Mason

The fandom came alight today with news that Jena Malone has been offered the role of Johanna Mason inCatching Fire. The Hollywood Reporter says that while it’s not a done deal, the talks will no doubt end up with Malone agreeing to take on the role.

Perrif Nemiroff from Movies.com decided to check in with Hunger Games fansites to see what they think of the news:

Hamilton – My Hunger Games

Jena Malone is not a big name that would have jumped out at me as being a candidate for Johanna. I didn’t, in fact, recognize her name despite having seen several movies she’s starred in. The two roles that stand out are Mary in Saved! and Rocket in Sucker Punch. In Saved! she plays a girl with some serious internal struggles, dealing with an unplanned pregnancy. In Sucker Punch she kicks some serious arse as an older sister who will give anything and everything to protect her younger sister. She’s also not bad looking. Those are all the ingredients we need in Johanna Mason. Combined with the fact that as a lesser known actress she won’t bring a lot of preconceptions with her, I think she’s a fine – if unexpected – choice and if she accepts the part, I won’t be disappointed.

Crystal – Mockingjay.net
While I think Jena is too old to be the book Johanna Mason, it’s a movie and therefore allowances have to be made. I get that Jennifer looks much older than she should and so I understand why Johanna has to be aged up. And if aging up helps Garrett Hedlund in any way, I’m all for it! I’ve only seen Jena in Sucker Punch andContact (when she was like 12). Sad to say that Sucker Punch really disappointed me. It was all fluff and a total guy’s movie, but I definitely think she can pull off the snark and attitude of Johanna. And while I may not have liked Sucker Punch, her role as Rocket is actually similar to Johanna Mason in that she had to play the badass Rocket and her real-life counterpart who was decidedly more weak and vulnerable as a mental patient. (Great for Mockingjay!)

Lindsay – HG Girl On Fire
When Jena Malone was first mentioned as a possibility for Johanna Mason, I think many people were surprised. She’s not quite the first person that jumps to mind. However, Jena is a seasoned actress that’s got a pretty broad range, and the more time I’ve had to think on it, the more I like the choice for our Johanna. Jena is one of those actors that you might have recognized, but probably didn’t know her name. Most recently she played the seemingly innocent, but out-for-blood Nancy McCoy in the TV mini-series Hatfields & McCoys. She’s got snark. She’s got attitude, and she’s able to play it tough. And rumor is that she really wanted the role. I like where this is going so far.

You can read the rest of the article here including opinions from Down With The Capitol, The Hob, HG Movie Site, Hunger Games Trilogy, and The Hunger Games Fireside Chat

And this is our review about this rumor:

Tributes Indonesia

Our reaction to rumors about Jena Malone as Johanna Mason was very surprised! Because we think the figure of Johanna Mason Strong, tough, and brave. Jena does look strong, but she was too young and too soft to be a Johanna Mason.

What’s your reaction? Fill the comment below!

About TributesIndo

Indonesian fanbase for The Hunger Games. Email: TributesIndonesia@ymail.com

Posted on 04/07/2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the desire”.I’m attempting to to find issues to improve my website!I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your ideas!!

  2. you are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a fantastic activity in this subject!

  3. I simply want to tell you that I’m all new to weblog and seriously liked you’re web blog. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You absolutely have exceptional articles and reviews. Bless you for revealing your blog site.

  4. Thank you, I have just been looking for info about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered so far. But, what about the bottom line? Are you sure about the source?

  5. *After study a few of the weblog posts on your site now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will likely be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my internet website as nicely and let me know what you think.

  6. I beloved as much as you’ll receive performed proper here. The comic strip is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an shakiness over that you wish be turning in the following. ill no doubt come further until now once more as exactly the same nearly a lot frequently inside of case you shield this hike.

  7. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site :). “The part can never be well unless the whole is well.” by Saul Bellow.

  8. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch as I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! “Curiosity will conquer fear even more than bravery will.” by James Stephens.

  9. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was searching for! “Being rich is having money being wealthy is having time.” by Margaret Bonnano.

  10. Very interesting info !Perfect just what I was looking for! “I myself do nothing. The Holy Spirit accomplishes all through me.” by William Blake.

  11. I like this site very much so much superb info.

Leave a Reply

